The Flavours of Herriot Country Awards 2022

Celebrating the Best in Food & Drink throughout Herriot Country

A time to celebrate

We can’t wait to welcome you all back to these very special awards, after a long and enforced absence. We are delighted to share the best news of the year for all you food and drink businesses in Herriot Country, covering the areas of Richmondshire and Hambleton. The Flavours of Herriot Country Awards, one of the most respected and recognised food awards in Yorkshire is back!

Now in its 9th year, the Awards will be held on Monday, May 9, 2022, at Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, bringing a welcome bit of spring time cheer, and many things to celebrate, in such a beautiful setting. We have received such generous support from our main sponsors, Hambleton District Council, and North Yorkshire County Council. And we are so appreciative of the category sponsors, and the many businesses that will be contributing and helping make it an extra special awards event.

Flavours of Herriot Country Awards
Flavours of Herriot Country Awards

Elly Fiorentini, BBC Radio York presenter, will be hosting and presenting the Flavours of Herriot Country awards and adding her sparkle and warmth to this wonderful occasion.

There are 12 categories, all offering an ideal opportunity to enter your businesses, and to be recognised for your achievements over the past year.

Chair of the Flavours of Herriot Country Awards, Irene Myers said “It will be a very special, memorable and exciting awards event, for many reasons. A time for us to get together and congratulate each other, and to really celebrate everyone’s incredible achievements, despite the fragile climate we have all been faced with.

A credit to you all for drawing on your resources, diversifying, supporting your communities, feeding those in need, offering food deliveries and working so hard, sometimes against the odds, to make sure all this happened. This is what the awards will be about, to recognise all the hard work, going that extra tough mile, alongside running your day to day businesses.

We can’t wait for all your entries to come rolling in, to hear how you made a difference, and how your business has grown in strength, and determination.
We want to applaud you!”

The Judging process is never an easy task, and we are very fortunate to have some of the most experienced and highly regarded food and drink experts in the region on the judging panel, headed by chair of judges, Susie Brindley.

Flavours of Herriot Country Awards

Susie Brindley, Chair of judges added: “I am absolutely thrilled to be back again, Chairing the Judging process for the Flavours Of Herriot Country Awards 2022. After an enforced break, our return iseven more welcome as this will be an opportunity to recognise and reward the resilience and fortitude of our amazing Herriot Country businesses, producers and makers. The tough process of selecting the Finalists and Winners for the 2022 Awards will be carried out by our independent judges, and once again, I have no doubt that this will be an incredibly hard task for everyone concerned. In previous years, the high standard of nominations, and the extraordinary people and accomplishments are truly remarkable, however, in 2020 and 2021, in our eyes, every single nominee deserves praise for what they have achieved.”

The awards are easy to ENTER, and there are some top tips on the web site on what the judges will be looking for, to help you complete your entry. You can enter more than one category, which means you have more than one chance of winning!

The closing date is midnight, Monday, 14 February, 2022.

Tickets for the awards are £25, which includes welcome drinks, Yorkshire Grazing platters & afternoon tea. Available to buy online once the finalists have been announced

Flavours of Herriot Country Awards
The Flavours of Herriot Country Awards event

What the awards have meant to some of our previous winners


We are being approached for more diverse work and collaborations than before which is how we’d like our business to grow


Winning the Specialist Retailer of the Year at The Flavours of Herriot Country award was in our view the turning point for our business.


All I can say to anyone deciding to enter or not is, just do it, you never know, you might be a first time winner like us!!


You should find all the answers to your questions on the Enter the Awards page… Or e-mail us using the form below.

6 + 2 =

Get Social


Keep up to date on everything that’s happening




Irene Myers, Irene Myers & Associates.

Emma Hudson, Business & Economy Tourism Advisor, Hambleton District Council.
Ian Ashton, Managing Director, World of James Herriot Ltd.
Neil Jones, Technical Director, World of James Herriot Ltd.
Cllr Carl Les, Leader, North Yorkshire Country Council.
Debra Thornton,
Business & Operations Director
Malcolm Warne, Communications Officer, the office of Rishi Sunak MP.


Flavours of Herriot Country Awards supporter
Flavours of Herriot Country Awards supporter
Flavours of Herriot Country Awards supporter
Flavours of Herriot Country Awards supporter